DeKalb FFA Named a Top 10 Chapter in Indiana

posted Jun 27, 2013, 6:40 AM by webmaster district   [ updated Jun 27, 2013, 6:41 AM ]
The DeKalb FFA was named a Top 10 Chapter at the Indiana FFA State Convention at Purdue University on June 18 – 20.  The DeKalb FFA was evaluated on the type and quality of its activities that the chapter conducts.  The DeKalb FFA offers unique programs like Tailgate for Troops, The Stockman Livestock Judging Contest, Pumpkin Painting, Cancer Benefit, Community Garden, Ag Day, and more. 

While at the Indiana FFA State Convention, DeKalb FFA won state championships in several contests.   McKenna Clifford & Rachel Haynes demonstrated their way to a state winning natural resources demonstration on ‘How to Make Maple Syrup.’  The team of LeAnna Shearer, Leah Hefty, Kylee Stout, and Ellen Shearer won the Food Science Contest.  They will now compete at the National FFA Convention in Louisville, KY in late October.   LeAnna Shearer & Kylee Stout won Division 3 Food AgriScience with their project on ‘E.Coli: From Garden to Plate’, & Leah Hefty won Division 1 Environmental AgriScience with her investigation on algae growth for biofuels.  Advisor Matt Dice said “it really takes a lot of hard work and dedication to put yourself in position to win a state championship & I am really proud of these students for how they reached their goals.”

Other notable accomplishments are: Lake Evans & Fox Clifford finish 4th in the Ag Mechanics Demonstration, McKenna Clifford finished 4th in the Multimedia Scrapbook, & Tyler Foster & Connor Helmkamp finished 2nd in Division 4 Environmental AgriScience.  Advisor Matt Dice commented “anytime a team can finish in the top 4 is a great accomplishment.”


The DeKalb FFA members are surrounding the trophy for a Top 10 Chapter.  Members from left to right are: Front Row: Brooke Snyder, McKenzie Heffley, Rachel Haynes, Kylee Stout, Leah Hefty, McKenna Clifford, Fox Clifford.  Back Row: LeAnna Shearer, Ellen Shearer, Lake Evans, & Tyler Foster.


Food Science picture: The state champion team, from left to right: Ellen Shearer, Kylee Stout, Leah Hefty, & LeAnna Shearer.  This team will compete at the National FFA Convention in October.