DeKalb Claims Academic Crown

posted Mar 19, 2014, 1:26 PM by webmaster district   [ updated Mar 19, 2014, 1:27 PM ]

DeKalb High School’s academic team gathers with its first-place trophy from the Northeast Hoosier Conference meet Monday night at DeKalb. From left are Shayna Burrage, Teddy Lepley, Christa Voirol, Sean Mentzer, Anabelle VanHorn, Jessica Dye (holding trophy), Dallas Krinop (partially hidden), Shawn Pfefferkorn, Garrett Newhard, Will Pierce, Sarah Edmonds, Celeste Newhard and Matt Irwin.

WATERLOO — DeKalb High School academic teams won the Northeast Hoosier Conference championship Monday night for the third year in a row, said coach Andy Comfort.

DeKalb played host to the NHC Academic Super Bowl Invitational meet. Columbia City placed second overall, followed by Homestead, East Noble and Carroll.

Individual teams from DeKalb earned these placings:

• social studies, first (team members Christa Voirol, Sean Mentzer, Matt Irwin, Shawn Pfefferkorn and coach Andy Comfort);

• math, first (Jessica Dye, Will Pierce, Celeste Newhard, Dallas Krinop and coach Josh Yankey);

• English, fifth (Sara Edmonds, Celeste Newhard, Leah Ziebell, Garrett Newhard and coach Cyndi Klink);

• science, second, tied for first but broken by tiebreakers, (Will Pierce, Shayna Burrage, Christa Voirol and coach Jenny Oberlin);

• fine arts, second (Annabelle VanHorn, Teddy Lepley, Shayna Burrage and coach Amy Buchs); and

• interdisciplinary, first (Christa Voirol, Annabelle Vanhorn, Will Pierce, Celeste Newhard).

DeKalb Super Bowl Team also won the invitational meet at Hamilton a few weeks back. They will compete next in the area meet on April 22nd.

Article from The Star on Tuesday, March 18, 2014